TESDA pursues the assessment and certification of the competencies of the middle-level skilled workers through Philippine TVET Competency Assessment and Certification System (PTCACS). The assessment process seeks to determine whether the graduate or worker can perform to the standards expected in the workplace based on the defined competency standards. Certification is provided to those who meets the competency standards. This ensures the productivity, quality and global competitiveness of the middle-level workers.

TESDA has a Registry of Certified Workers which provides information on the pool of certified workers for certain occupations nationwide.

TESDA also has accredited assessment centers as well as the competency assessors who conduct competency assessment process for persons applying for certification.


It is the process of collecting evidence and making judgments on whether competency has been achieved. It focuses in assessing an individual’s skills, knowledge, attitude and work values relative to a unit or cluster of units of competency. Here are the general requirements and procedures in applying for Assessment and Certification:


After passing the assessment, you could either get a National Certificate (NC) or a Certificate of Competency (COC). So what is the difference between these two certificates?

Before that, let us define what a Qualification is. Qualification   is a group of competencies packaged from the supermarket of competency. It represents a clear meaningful set-up in the workplace and is aligned with the Phil. TVET Qualifications Framework Descriptor. Depending on the breadth, depth and scope of competency, a qualification may fall under National Certificate level I, II, III, or IV.

National Certificate is issued when a candidate has demonstrated competence in all units of competency that comprised a Qualification. Meanwhile, a Certificate of Competency is issued to individuals who have satisfactorily demonstrated competence on a particular or cluster of units of competency.

A full National Qualification may be attained through:
1. Accumulation of achieved units of competency leading to a National Qualification (COC);
2. Directly undertaking assessment towards a Full National Qualification (NC)

Levels of National Certificates

National Certificate I

• Performs routine and predictable tasks
• Has little judgment
• Works under supervision

National Certificate II

• Performs prescribed range of functions involving known routines and procedures
• Has limited choice and complexity of functions
• Has little accountability

National Certificate III

• Performs wide range of skills
• Works with complexity and choices
• Contributes to problem solving and work processes
• Shows responsibility for self and others

National Certificate IV

• Performs a wide range of applications
• Have responsibilities that are complex and nonroutine
• Provides some leadership and guidance of others
• Performs evaluation and analysis of work practices and the development of new criteria and procedures

No Responses

Leave a Reply